Week 6 – With Intent

This week Have been pretty harsh, the Light Engine ”Let There Be Light” is obviously not optimised for OpenGL properly, so put out more than 2 update-able lights and you get some serious bugs on OS X.Bild

I see no way around this unless I reconfigure the whole LTBL library, which I don’t really have time for right now. For testing Purposes with less lights I can still test the code on Mac with the Prototype, for the full game I simply have to rework it on Windows. I’ll return on this at a later date when I have spare time to fix it.

Bild

 

The Keys have a separate Light Source, so that they give off a glow (right now even in the dark), we wanted the Keys to give off a glow to be easily recognised as something you want to pick up (which kind of contradicts our philosophy that all light is harmful). The Key’s color match the color of the door it’s connected to, so if you find a key with a green glow, you know it’s the green door it opens. Initially I had the Pick-up radius visible (as the glow effect was suggested a little later), but now it’s only used to see if you are close enough to pick up the key, since the glow have the same radius.

lastly, Ive found another annoying difference between Mac and Windows, Windows use not only CLRF, but it also does not use UNICODE per default (saving the file from C# still does). Which means that special characters like § have different keycodes if saved from notepad for example, since the Encoding is different. I could go around checking the Encode, but I fail to reason that way, since UNICODE have been the universal encoding for many years now. There is no reason to use anything else. I could also check for either of the keycodes, but that may give unexpected results in case the keycode is used for other characters on the opposing encoding (which is likely).

Also, something saved on Windows have an extra line-breaker ”\r” (which Windows compilers ignore) that have to be removed on Mac for it to be read properly, but removing it breaks on Windows in case there is nothing to read (an empty row). I can get around this by using #ifdef __APPLE__ for code that’s unnecessary on Windows, as can I use #ifndef __APPLE__ for code that’s needed for Windows but breaks or don’t work on Mac.

1 tanke på “Week 6 – With Intent

  1. hermanbatelsson

    Hello, Herman here. I was assigned to comment on your blog this week.
    I like how you keep the text at just academic enough to keep the text professional but still keep it from being boring. Overall I can’t really see any flaws really worth noting with how the blog is written so most of these are going to be small ones about your latest post. You mention serious bugs and I assume that’s what’s shown on the image but I would have liked it if you would have elaborated more on what you were trying to achieve with the image rather than the huge light on the image. It’s not very clear what was supposed to be on the image.
    The second paragraph is interesting as it touches on game mechanics. I really like the glow of the keys and you mention they glow in the dark “right now” I assume this means they will only shine when covered in another light but this isn’t very clear.
    An extremely minor thing to note is that you start a paragraph with “Lastly” without making that the final paragraph. In the final paragraphs you also refer to a lot of things I don’t recognize since I don’t use mac. It can be deduced in most cases since you often mention the Windows equivalent but it would have been nice if you made it a bit clearer.
    Overall you’re running a good blog, just try to keep it up even after the project ends.
    Good Luck.
    -Herman.

    Svara

Lämna en kommentar